UNWTO and FITUR launch UNWTO Awards 2013

Luis Eduardo Cortés (left) and Taleb Rifai agree the collaboration

Luis Eduardo Cortés (left) and Taleb Rifai agree the collaboration

The World Tourism Organisation (UNWTO) has joined forces with Spanish trade fair FITUR to organise this year’s UNWTO Awards, one of the most prestigious recognition programmes in the worldwide tourist industry.

The Awards recognise and showcase innovative and sustainable tourism initiatives and influential individuals of the tourism sector, and this year’s ceremony will take place at the Madrid International Tourism Trade Fair (FITUR).

A move comes after a collaboration agreement was signed by Taleb Rifai, UNWTO Secretary-General, and Luis Eduardo Cortés, Chief Executive Officer of the Trade Fair Institution of Madrid (IFEMA), of which FITUR is a key fair.

Rifai said: “This agreement showcases FITUR’s support to tourism innovation and sustainability as well as its commitment to the long standing partnership with UNWTO. We are particularly happy as this means the Awards Ceremony will take place in Madrid, the host city of UNWTO.”

Cortés added: “FITUR is honoured to expand the framework of cooperation with the main reference in world tourism, sharing UNWTO’s goals which are key to the progress of the sector.”

Since its inception in 2003, UNWTO has acknowledged the contribution of eight distinguished scholars as well as more than 40 institutions – public, private or NGOs – for their innovative tourism initiatives. The contribution of the awardees is in line with UNWTO’s policies, priorities and programme of work, including the Global Code of Ethics for Tourism and the principles and standards set in the United Nations’ Millennium Development Goals.

Still time for nominations

The call for nominations for the 2013 UNWTO Awards is open until 1 October 2013, with the awards split into the categories for individuals as well as specific tourism activities.

Categories for individuals:

  • The UNWTO Ulysses Prize for Excellence in the Creation and Dissemination of Knowledge
  • The UNWTO Award for Lifetime Achievement

Categories for specific tourism initiatives:

  • UNWTO Ulysses Award for Innovation in Public Policy and Governance
  • UNWTO Ulysses Award for Innovation in Enterprises
  • UNWTO Ulysses Award for Innovation in Non-Governmental Organisations
  • UNWTO Ulysses Award for Innovation in Research and Technology.

The 2013 Awards ceremony will take place on 22 January 2014 during the Madrid International Fair FITUR. It will be followed on 23 January by the UNWTO Knowledge Network Symposium, which will highlight best theories and practices showcased by the award winners.

For more details click here